Start a new topic

Notice to Vacate - Versus Eviction Notice

I need help as I am new to being a landlord.  I have a tenant with whom I sent a notice to vacate the property by the end of this month due to numerous lease violations the biggest of which was inconsistent and late rent payments.  After a phone conversation to make tenant aware to vacate, I sent a certified letter outlining the reasons why, drawing reference to several portions of the lease.  The tenant is refusing to leave until they are able to find a new place which could take much longer than the 30 days I have given him to vacate.  On top of this, I have yet to receive full payment of rent for this month (making it now 16 days late) and therefore wondering if I am within my rights to now serve an eviction notice for non-rent payment.  Will the eviction trump the notice to vacate letter?

A Notice to Vacate is a warning. The eviction notice must be a notice that is in compliance with state regulations for eviction. Whether you are a landlord or a tenant, if an eviction action is filed, it must first start out with the posting of a "Three Day Notice to Vacate" upon the door of the rented premises, with the proper wording.   But one thing to watch out for is that three days does not mean three calendar days. The day of posting does not count towards the three days in the Notice. Further, any day upon which the Court is not open, such as Saturdays, Sundays, and Holidays, don't count either. If you miscount the "notice period" and file your eviction before the "permissible"  three days have fully passed, then this will serve as a basis for the tenant to get the case dismissed.