Start a new topic

Back Rent, Stolen Property & Abandoned Property

I have/had a tenant that owes 3 months back rent. I informed her that I would not be renewing the lease and that she had 6 weeks to move out. I also set up a payment plan so she could get the back rent caught up. When she informed me that she would not be able to find a place to live in 6 weeks (not enough time) and that I would not be getting any more money (she needed it for moving expenses) I gave her 3 days to pay half of what she owed or I would begin official eviction action. When I went to the house at the agreed upon time to collect the payment I found that she had moved out. She left the house a mess, leaving a number of items in the home and garage. I found damaged property (kicked in doors and broken windows) and she had taken the refigerator (belongs to the property and listed in the lease). I am new at this and have no idea how to move forward. I have changed the locks on the house.  What legal recourse do I have for any of the above issues? (Thanks for helping!!)