Start a new topic

late rent

What is the normal charge per day for late rent. Please if any one can help with this thank u I am new to this. / Have a renter that has been late every month for the past 9 months and want to start charging late fees thanks for your input Debbie

Typically in a lease, late fees are explicitly stated.  Some start at $25 after 5 days (or whatever your state law allows) and some as high as $75.    Others start with a flat fee and add more per day, here is one such example:  "If rent is received more than three (3) days after the due date, the Tenant will pay an initial late charge of  $25.00.  Each additional day the rent remains unpaid after the 5th day, a $ 5.00 charge will be incurred"
You could do a couple of things, tell him you are not renewing his lease and take him to court for what he owes or go to a month to month lease and when he is done paying you  give him a notice or take him to court and garnish his wages, How is he going to find a new place if he has a hard time paying you. first last security? You could also tell him get out by a certain time and you will forget what he owes. I wouldn't but you could.
I have the same problem. I think you have to give them 14 days to pay or move. If they pay, then you can't evict. If they don't pay you need to give them a 30 day notice to move.
The late fee question should be addressed in your lease. If it is not, and you have a written Rental Agreement, you can serve a 30-day notice to change the terms of your rental agreement, and state the new Late Fee parameters.  Please be aware that if rent is not paid by the due date, no matter whether you have a grace period or not, then the tenant is in breach of the contract. You can serve a 3-day notice to pay rent or quit, wait the required time period in your state, then proceed to evict the tenant. Check with your local Apartment Owners Assoc. for the specifics for your state. K from CA