Start a new topic

Collecting Rents

Hi All,  I'm new to this thing renting thing and was hoping someone could give me a heads up.  Does anyone out there have some sort of direct deposit set up where their tenants just pay their rents electronically into an account?  If so, how'd you set it up?  Would anyone recommend just sticking to cash/check as the preferred form of payment?  Thank you.

Hi David, I'm new to this as well, I recently moved to CO. and my house just happens to be located in Vancouver, WA which has the highest number of foreclosures in WA state right now.  Anyway, I called my credit union and asked about that.  They said the the tenant would have to set up EFT on their part, and have it deposited into my account from their bank.  Most institutions have Bill Pay, and she suggested I have my future tenants sign up for it asap.  I'm considering including it in my lease, where you can add additional info.
Thanks Michelle.  I don't know why I didn't think about just running down to my bank for that info.  Good idea.  It would be nice to just have the tenants electronically pay.  It seems like it would make the rent collection process a whole lot easier.
No problem, I guess the hard part is having your tenants agree to it.  Collecting rent would be that much easier!
I have found that PayPal is also really helpful and easy to use.
Try google checkout, they like paying by credit card.  you can charge the tenant the 3% fee if they pay by card! www.google.com/checkout
I know my renter si I gave them 12 deposit slips.  The 1st they just drop the rent off at the bank.
Thank you all for the input.  These are great suggestions, and hopefully this thread will be helpful to others as well.  Kelly T., have you been using the google checkout for a while now?  How dependable has it been for you?  Ronald P., I love your idea, and I could probably set up a "dummy" account if I wanted to so that way there's no money in the account for them to withdraw from.