Start a new topic

Collecting Rents

Hi All,  I'm new to this thing renting thing and was hoping someone could give me a heads up.  Does anyone out there have some sort of direct deposit set up where their tenants just pay their rents electronically into an account?  If so, how'd you set it up?  Would anyone recommend just sticking to cash/check as the preferred form of payment?  Thank you.

Hi I use Wellsfargo bank so I can check my account at anytime I have been doing this for 4yr and I have 10 rentals my tenants depoiset then send me a tex,email.call when there funds are put in bank and they no if there not in on time it will show up in bank log. I do not except checks and I send out 3 day or quit on the 4 even if they do parcial rent that starts the clock ticking. still collect late fee but if I have to file I do it.
The automatic debits by ClearNow are not free to landlords - our pricing (which is explained in more detail at www.clearnow.com) for monthly debits is $14.95/mo for the first tenant and $2/mo for each additional tenant.  These fees are subtracted from the rent collected and direct deposited into the landlord's bank account (so there is no separate billing cycle).  For landlords who just have one tenant, we also have a program where we can charge $4/debit for semimonthly payments ($8/mo for their only tenant).  In those instances where a debit is upcoming through ClearNow and the tenant knows they will not have funds in their bank account, a one-time "block" or stop of the debit can be initiated by the landlord or tenant.  If you have a tenant who will go to an ATM and use the free ATM card to deposit funds into your bank account, that's great.  Since not all solutions work for everyone,  ClearNow might work better for other landlords whose tenants respond better to an automatic debit (where those tenants don't have to do anything) and who are concerned about never receiving partial rent payments (since ClearNow is an all-or-none transaction).