Start a new topic

Big mess, new to being a landlord. help!

My father had bought a house under my name when I was about 20, and was renting it out to this lady.  She was paying 900 a month, fell on hard times, and now is paying 600 a month, apparantly on an oral agreement with my father.  The problem is my father just recently passed away and now this house is legally mine.  I can not afford to cover half the mortgage like my father did, and now I need to charge her at least 1,000 a month but also want to look for a new renter.  How do I go about this?  Illinois.

Nick sounds like you need a new tenet to make your 1000 a month rent.  I'm new to this rental property stuff also. GL
Nick...if you and you only owned the house, it appears that your father was acting as your agent. If he was keeping the rental income and filing tax form Sch E..........it may be in your best interest to contact a tax expert and /or lawyer to discuss your situation.
Thanks for the advice Stan.  The house has always been under my name thought.  Im 99% sure they had an oral agreement though.  If thats the case, I am thinking of giving her a 30 day noitce of the rent increase.  If they did have a written lease, would I still need to honor it if I have never signed it, and its my name on the house? and always has been?