Start a new topic

Options for Difficult Tenant

I'm new to this landlording gig and am running into issues with a difficult tenant. The rent for my tenant (a recently divorced, single-mother of 3 teenage children) has been paid by her church for the past few months, and for the foreseeable future. I am concerned about the condition of the yard and the property, as the yard has not properly been cared for per the contract and is also a large oil stain left on my driveway that I have asked my tenant to deal with.  My tenant's cell phone number has recently either been disconnected or changed (per the automated message), and the only means that I have to communicate with her is via email at this time.  Upon my most recent visit (of which I attempted to give notice of one week prior via text), no one answered the door after multiple rings and knocks, despite the fact that the tenants car was in the driveway. I proceeded to winterize the sprinkler lines, and tried knocking and ringing the doorbell again and no response.  When I got home, I received an angry email about me scaring her daughter, and showing up unannounced and without giving notice... the fabricated story goes on and on, but I'll skip that.  With a little sleuthing, I was able to determine that the email came from her home wifi at the time that I was on the property (yet no one answered the door).  I have since informed my tenant that I traced her email to her home at the time I was there, which debunked her story. Since then, I have yet to receive any further communication with my tenant.  What are my options here if my tenant is avoiding me and making communication difficult or near impossible?  At this point, I'm looking for a way to just terminate the lease and find another tenant, but I'm not sure I have enough grounds to do so.  Do Utah rental laws allow me to terminate a contract just because the tenant is difficult to reach and has established a history of failure to keep up the property?